Improvised music from Japan - Extra 2006

Label : Improvised music from Japan

Title : Improvised music from Japan - Extra 2006

Release date : 2006

In addition to interviews of 12 musicians/1 group residing in Berlin (Gregor Hotz, Nicholas Bussmann, Merle Bennett, Thomas Ankersmit, Ignaz Schick, Hans Strobl, Pure, Annette Krebs, Andrea Neumann, Caramel Empties, Alessandro Bosetti, Boris Baltschun, and Kai Fagaschinski), this « extra » issue of IMJ features 2 CDs with 18 tracks by a total of over 30 musicians, almost all of whom are Berlin residents: Adeline Rosenstein/Andrea Neumann, Annette Krebs/Steffi Weismann, Kommando Raumschiff Zitrone, Michael Thieke Unununium, Lucio Capece/Axel Doerner/Robin Hayward, Tunar, Alessandro Bosetti, Tony Buck/Andrea Neumann, Sink, Marzipan Marzipan, Kalkuel & Leidenschaft, Boris Hauf, Phillip Sollman, Thomas Ankersmit, Ignaz Schick/Jason Forrest, Burkhard Beins, Rechenzentrum, and blumm&tau. The interviews were conducted by Toshimaru Nakamura during a visit to Berlin in January 2005 (with the exception of the email interview of Annette Krebs by Taku Sugimoto, which took place between January and April 2006). In addition to discussing their musical activities, the artists share many of their thoughts about the Berlin scene. Their candid views reveal the dynamism that has characterized that scene since the late ’90s. Berlin musician Nicholas Bussmann was in charge of the selection of artists for the accompanying CDs, and the result is an ideal compilation for those who want to know more about today’s Berlin scene. Through the words and music of musicians on the scene, this issue explores Berlin situation of improvised music (and related genres) in the first half of the 2000s.



Gregor Hotz
Nicholas Bussmann
Merle Bennett
Thomas Ankersmit
Ignaz Schick
Hannes Strobl
Annette Krebs
Andrea Neumann
Caramel Empties
Alessandro Bosetti
Boris Baltschun
Kai Fagaschinski
All interviews by Toshimaru Nakamura in Berlin, January 2005, except Annette Krebs interview, by Taku Sugimoto by e-mail, January-April 2006.

Track list of attached CDs
Disc 1

Adeline Rosenstein / Andrea Neumann – Pas Perdus (2:23)
Adeline Rosenstein: voice
Andrea Neumann: inside piano, mixing board

Annette Krebs / Steffi Weismann – Le Vol (3:46)
Audio short version of an audio-visual performance by Annette Krebs and Steffi Weismann
Annette Krebs: idea, Soundplant, objects, composition
Steffi Weismann: idea, objects, voice
Nicolas Galeazzi: voice
Agnes, Ralph, Vicky, Victoria: Mac OS X voices

Kommando Raumschiff Zitrone – Roger (7:14)
Kai Fagaschinski: clarinet
Christof Kurzmann: lloopp

Michael Thieke Unununium – Schaum (3:38)
Luca Venitucci: accordion, prepared piano
Derek Shirley: double bass
Eric Schaefer: drums
Michael Thieke: alto clarinet, alto saxophone, clarinet, zither

Lucio Capece / Axel Dörner / Robin Hayward – Inflie (7:37)
Lucio Capece: bass clarinet
Axel Dörner: trumpet
Robin Hayward: tuba

Tunar – Antwort auf den Regen (8:23)
Dave Bennett: guitar, short wave radio
Merle Bennett: drums
Sabine Vogel: flute, electronics

Alessandro Bosetti – African Feedback: Extracts 1 to 8 (4:13)
Composed by Alessandro Bosetti
Recorded by Alessandro Bosetti in Ogol Leye, Pays Dogon, Mali, November 2004
Feedbacks by Ouaganamon, Edijo, Iasera, Fanta, Gadjula Souleman Dolo, Gouioubenguyon Dolo, Yaboudou Dolo, and Tapaninju Dolo

Tony Buck / Andrea Neumann – Without Title (8:13)
Tony Buck: drums
Andrea Neumann: inside piano

Sink – Ausland 1 [excerpt] (7:43)
Andrea Ermke: samplers
Chris Abrahams: DX-7
Marcello Silvio Busato: guitar, percussion
Arthur Rother: guitar

Marzipan Marzipan – Ennio (1:28)
Disc 2

Kalkül & Leidenschaft – Leningrad Sunrise (13:14)
Nicholas Bussmann: cello
Kai Fagaschinski: clarinet
Joe Williamson: bass

Boris Hauf – It’s a Dirty Job But Somebody’s Got to Do It (5:44)

Phillip Sollmann – Room Two (8:44)

Thomas Ankersmit – Negatieve Bijdrage (5:00)
Thomas Ankersmit: saxophone, synthesizer, computer

Ignaz Schick / Jason Forrest – Blood Orchid (11:22)
Ignaz Schick: turntables
Jason Forrest: electronics

Burkhard Beins – For Ian Curtis (3:08)

Rechenzentrum – A Capitalistic Landscape (4:20)

blumm&tau – Eskimono (4:34)
F.S.Blumm: guitar
boris d hegenbart-matsui: computer
yumiko hegenbart-matsui: drawings
Compiled and mastered by Nicholas Bussmann

Last updated: April 23, 2020

© Alessandro Bosetti / 2024